2015 Hugo Awards Best Novel: Reviewing Ancillary Sword

Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie (Orbit US/Orbit UK)

I’m glad I read Ancillary Sword. It was an interesting book with some very topical thoughts on oppression and distribution of wealth. Anyone who is familiar with the concepts of company towns will find similar motifs in Ancillary Sword. Anyone who read and enjoyed Ancillary Justice will find Ancillary Sword to be a fitting continuation of the story, well written, well thought out, well developed. The compelling questions behind it aren’t as striking as in the first novel which I think is why it falls a little flat comparatively. Still, solidly good military sci-fi in the tradition of Elizabeth Moon and Tanya Huff.

Categories: 2015 Hugos, books, Hugos, reviews | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “2015 Hugo Awards Best Novel: Reviewing Ancillary Sword

  1. Pingback: Santa Claus vs. P.U.P.P.Y. 6/25 | File 770

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: